Goa Election results 2022 live updates: Lotus blooms in Goa for another term

The counting of votes for the 40 seats spread across Goa has begun. All eyes arefixed on the dead-heat race in Goa, where the both the BJP and the Congress are fighting out a fierce battle, according to the exit polls. While most pollsters believe that BJP or Congress will emerge as the single largest party, it will be interesting who will emerge as kingmaker. Will it be Goa's oldest party Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party in alliance with TMC or Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party.
Pramod Sawant flashes the victory sign as BJP leads, during counting day of Goa elections, in Panaji
Pramod Sawant flashes the victory sign as BJP leads, during counting day of Goa elections, in PanajiPhoto : Gomantak Times

Chief Minister Dr Pramod Sawant offers prayers at the Shree Datta Mandir in Sanquelim- his constituency

<div class="paragraphs"><p>Chief Minister Dr Pramod Sawant offers prayers at the Shree Datta Mandir in Sanquelim</p></div>

Chief Minister Dr Pramod Sawant offers prayers at the Shree Datta Mandir in Sanquelim

Gomantak Times

Chief minister Pramod Sawant said that BJP will get absolute majority in assembly election 2022.

Chief Minister Pramod Sawant arrives at BJP office

"If we need support of a third political party to form the government it will be a joint decision of MGP and TMC. We will definitely get a majority this time," MGP's Sudin Dhavalikar.

BJP cheated me, will take a call in the interest of Goa if I win: 

As the counting of postal ballots start, former BJP leader and Goa Chief Minister said that BJP cheated me. "I was never with congress and BJP has cheated me so I am equidistant from both the parties and if I win and will take a call in the interest of Goa," he said.

Early trends show BJP leading in North Goa 

As counting of postal ballots is underway, early leads show the BJP leading on 9 seats while Congress is ahead on 8 seats.

Vishwajit Rane leads in Valpoi 

The counting of votes in Valpoi shows that Health Minister Vishwajit Rane is ahead with 1300 votes

BJP's Divya Rane leading in Poriem

Divya Rane is leading in Poriem assembly consituency of the North Goa with 2600 votes.

Atanasio Monserrate leads in Panaji 

Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate is leading in Panaji by 383 votes after the first round of counting.

Vijai Sardesai leading from Fatorda

Goa Forward Party Chief Vijai Sardesai is leading from Fatorda by 593 votes in early trends. He is facing a challenge from BJP Damu Naik.


After the counting of Postal ballot, Congress is leading on 17 seats while BJP is ahead on 14 seats. MGP-TMC is ahead on 4 seats while one Independent Alexio Reginaldo is ahead in Curtorim

Panaji: Babush Monserratte: 1167, Utpal Parrikar: 784, Elvis Gomes: 343

In Panaji, BJP's Babush Monserrate is leading over Utpal Parrikar by 1167 votes. Congress's Elvis Gomes is placed at the third place with 343 votes.

Chief Minister Pramod Sawant trails from Sanquelim

Congress's Dharamesh Saglani is leading over Chief Pramod Sawant from Sanquelim by 470 votes.

Close contest in Taleigao

Early leads coming in from Taleigao show the BJP's Jennifer Monserrate is leading over Congress's Tony Alfredo Rodrigues by 88 votes.

BJP's Glenn Ticlo ahead in Aldona

In Aldona, BJP's Glenn Ticlo is leading with 989 votes after round one with while Congress candidate Carlos Ferreira has 873 votes. TMC's Kiran Kandolkar is third place with 649 votes

Round 1 leads in 27 seats shows BJP leading over Congress

BJP- 16

Congress- 5

IND - 2

AAP- 2

MGP- 1

Early numbers show Joshua D'Souza leading in Mapusa

BJP's Joshua D'Souza is leading from Mapusa, early numbers based on postal ballot counting only show.

Digambar Kamat leading in Margao

After three rounds of voting, Congress's Digambar Kamat is leading from Margao by 3000 votes over BJP's Manohar Ajgaonkar.

Rohan Khaunte leading in Porvorim

BJP's Rohan Khaunte is leading in Porvorim constituency.

Congress now leading on 15 seats, BJP on 13.

Michael Lobo leading in Calangute 

Michael Lobo is leading from Calangute by 1676 votes after two rounds.

Rajesh Faldesai (Cumbharjua), Antonio Vaz (Cortalim), Aleixo Sequeira (Nuvem), Rajan Korgaonkar (Pernem), Dr Ketan Bhatikar (Ponda), Jayesh Salgaonkar (Saligao), Ganesh Gaonkar (Sanvordem), Rudolf Fernandes (St Cruz) leading against their nearest rivals.

Goa - Leads at 10:30

BJP - 18

Congress - 12

MGP - 5

IND - 2

AAP - 1

After round 4 of counting, Pravin Arlekar leads in Pernem

BJP candidate Pravin Arlekar is leading in Pernem over MGP's Rajan Korgaonkar after 4 rounds.

Digambar Kamat ahead in Margao

Congress's Digambar Kamat leads by 5849 votes over BJP's Manohar Ajgaonkar in Margao constituency.

Aleixo Lourenco leads in Curtorim

Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco (Independent) leads in Curtorim while Revolutionary Goan candidate Rubert Pereira is second.

In Saligao, Congress's Kedar Naik leads with a slender margin

It's a neck-and-neck fight in Saligao where BJP candidate Jayesh Salgaonkar is trailing by 83 votes against Congress candidate Kedar Naik.

Jennifer Monserrate leads in Taleigao by slender margin

BJP's Jennifer Monserrate leads in Taleigao by only 116 votes over Congress's Tony Rodrigues in a neck-and-nech fight.

RG leading in oneconsttuency 

Revolutionary Goans's Viresh Borkar is leading from St Andre

Both Deputy Chief Minister trailing in Goa

Deputy CM Chandrakant Kavlekar is trailing by over 2000 votes in Quepem behind Congress candidate and Manohar Ajgaonkar is trailing in Margao

Victory is possible because of the efforts of the party and Prime Minister, Narendra Modi: Vishwajit Rane

Rane is leading from Valpoi by 5993 votes after 5 rounds of counting. When asked if he was the CM candidate, he said "no one has told me about the Chief Minister candidature yet I am working for my people."

CM Pramod Sawant leading from Sanquelim

After trailing for 3 rounds of counting, Chief Minister Pramod Sawant is leading from Sanquelim by 600 votes.

Goa CEO Kunal monitors counting procees at control room

In Panaji, Atanasio Monserrate leading by over 1000 votes. 

BJP’s Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate leads by 1000 votes in Panaji after 5 rounds of counting, while Independent candidate Utpal Parrikar, son of late Defence Minister is trailing.

In Ponda, MGP's Ketan Bhatikar leading by 129 votes

MGP's Ketan Bhatikar is leading from Ponda by 129 votes over Congress's Rajesh Verenkar. Ravi Naik is placed at third spot.

Neck-and-neck fight in Siolim

In Siolim, Congress's Delilah Lobo is leading by only 34 votes over BJP's Dayanand Mandrekar

Atanasio Monserrate secures Panaji seat 

Candidate Atanasio Monserrate secures an important seat for BJP. Former chief minister Manohar Parrikar's son and independent candidate Utpal Parrikar accepted defeat and termed the poll battle as a "good fight". Monserrate beat Utpal with a margin of 700 votes.